Halloween Yet Forward

Happy Halloween, everyone! This post deals with a new interview, an anthology appearance, and more, but first: I don’t know about you, but this is my favorite time of year. Having said that, many of us are still suffering from the aftereffects of Hurricane Sandy. I hope you and your loved ones are all safe and warm during this time.

On that somber note I’ll not be segueing into goblins and other such seasonal creepy-crawlies which may denote silliness, depending on the reader’s perspective. Instead I harken back to a familiar refrain for those following me online these last few months. And that is support of author Donna Munro during her struggle with cancer. How are we achieving this? By means of the multi-genre anthology Hazard Yet Forward.

Earlier this year when Donna was diagnosed with cancer her fellow Seton Hill alumni members organized this anthology. Who better to do so than graduates from one of the only MFA programs for writing popular fiction? The result is a massive collection of short fiction over 700 pages in length, spanning horror, romance, science fiction, fantasy, and more. I was lucky enough to be included in this project despite not being part of the Seton Hill family; you can read how that came about in my post Moving Forward Despite the Danger.The piece I contributed is a reprint titled “The Invisible Girl.” It’s a longish surreal, quiet horror tale, and has always been a favorite of mine. Beyond that so many of the other works are just plain great. Most importantly all proceeds from the sale of this anthology go directly to Donna and her family to assist them during this difficult time. If you are not in dire straights yourself after the destruction brought by Sandy, or already contributing to hurricane relief efforts, perhaps you’ll consider investing the $9.99 required for this cause. If nothing else it will make a great gift for the avid reader in your life during the back end of this holiday season, when joy and goodwill triumph over the fear and gloom ushered in by Halloween.

Now, you might be wondering what all of that has to do with October 31st, or Halloween specifically. I’m one of the Hazard Yet Forward contributors spotlighted in Jason Jack Miller’s Sound Check at Inveterate Media Junkies (IMJ) today. Check it out at http://inveteratemediajunkies.com. Over 30 of us are featured here as of today in brief interviews. Learn more about the history surrounding our contributions, our creative process, our thoughts on the genres and the craft, and more. Several of those involved in the Hazard Yet Forward project are also contributors to the media reviews and news site Inveterate Media Junkies and have donated their column space to bring you these features. This continued spirit of generosity from them does not surprise me, nor does that of Inveterate Media Junkies itself after having gotten to know the site owners. Yes, in the interest of transparency I will put it out there that I’m also a contributor to the site as recently announced.

Having said all that I hope you and yours have a fun, scary time tonight! I’ve been so busy with storm prep–and weathering the storm itself–that my son’s costume has fallen by the wayside, as have any treats to be given out. I’d better go get on that unless I want to deal with a despondent child this evening, and a front yard bedecked in toilet paper come the morning. In the meantime I hope you find my interview entertaining, particularly my selection of weapons for the zombie apocalypse.

One thought on “Halloween Yet Forward”

Leave a Reply

